I’m on the up and up. Trust me.

You may be the reason I learned never to lie,

and lied.

 

Words, and eyes, through my bitch teeth, a liar’s smile,

pretty white and convincing–and with my body,

I lied.

In deeds dirty he believed I was into it,

in deep love, or at least in heavy like–oh, yes! 

I lied

with my breath and whiskey sweat, with my hands and legs

like I was taught to do when drunk and wandering–

I lied

when I was lost inside my corridors, alone–

malleable between the wrong fucking fingers.

 

You are the reason I learned never to lie,

and lied.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “I’m on the up and up. Trust me.

  1. He sat down at the table, purposely letting the wooden chair drag noisily across the floor – like nails on a chalkboard.
    Tapping out a cigarette from a fresh pack he took another shot of whiskey from Enret, gratefully. Lighting the long black cancerstick his eyes raked over her through exhaled blue-gray smoke. Finally he spoke, his words thick, difficult, strained with conflicting emotions: metal under tension. His eyes slightly glassy.
    ‘This wasn’t exactly the way I saw things playing out…’ He replied to her unasked question, like he wasn’t sure what to make of it.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

