Angels Visit In The Night

You are the first one who comes to mind when I awake; every morning, you are my first thought. I open my eyes, and I say to myself, “Aunt Denise is dead.” I have to remind myself that the last time I saw you in a hospital bed with tubes stuffed down your throat wasn’t a god awful nightmare.

I have never felt such a loss. You’re the first to affect me in such a way that I lose my breath in the middle of the day–the first to keep me awake at night with the sound of your silent laughter. The sound of your laughter is unforgettable.

I know what I meant to you. And I know you felt how much I loved you–that’s not even an issue for me. The issue is that I can’t keep hugging you, looking at you, laughing with you. The issue is that I don’t have anyone anymore who understands the relationship between me and my mother. I don’t have you to love me when my mother is angry with me.

But I do. Even as I write this, I know you love me, and understand me. Because I feel you in the night, when angels visit. I feel you when I sleep, when you tip-tow though my dreams.

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Angels Visit In The Night

  1. It’s the real stuff, the way you love and feel and the way you write all that stuff and love and feelings down…

    I can’t express how much this touches me. I’m so heartsore right now and you just, well, you know. You touch me Kindra.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

