Amen

So be it, we say at the close of our prayers. Amen–so be it. Please, please, please, let us get what we want. But if not, whatever; You know better, God, our Father. 

I take issue with Amen. I take issue with parents who pray for the health of their mortally sick child, yet refuse the proper care to save that child’s life; I take issue with the discord between religious beliefs and medical science.

Example: a woman loses an obscene amount of blood delivering her baby, and as a result, she requires donor blood if she is to survive. She’s a former Jehovah’s Witness, and her parents are against their daughter receiving life saving blood; they pray to Jehovah that their daughter survives WITHOUT THE BLOOD  SHE NEEDS TO LIVE. But what the fuck? They say Amen–so be it. And I don’t fucking get it. I mean, I do get it. My grandparents are Jehovah’s Witnesses. I spent a lot of time as a youth in the Kingdom Hall, and I know why they don’t believe in taking blood. So no, I don’t require outside explanation; I know too much. So what I really mean is: I don’t give a flying fuck why they don’t believe in receiving life saving blood. If my mother had not received the blood my father agreed to, my sister would have never known the woman who birthed her.

Fun fact: I am not a heathen. I’m Catholic. Non-practicing. So maybe I am a heathen.

I believe in freedom of religion. I do not believe in letting people die because of the refusal to seek and accept medical treatment. I do not believe that parents should be exempt from the law due to their religious beliefs when their child has died due to lack of proper medical attention.

A while back ago, there were parents–I can’t recall the state they lived in–that were charged with second degree murder because their child died; they had refused necessary medical treatment for their daughter. And I was GLAD they were charged.

I will not do the thing. You know the thing that people do: would God really approve of x,y, and z? If there is a god, only he knows. I cannot pose questions that bring to question the integrity of God. Especially since I’m not particularly religious.

What I will say though, is that I believe God (if He is real) made us in his image; he gave us brains to use and develop. Free will, and lots of other goodies. And of all the sins we could possibly commit, how high on the list is saving lives with donor blood?

Jehovah’s Witnesses take the shit seriously.

I don’t take them seriously.

Call me a bitch, but I think they’re fucked up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Amen

  1. Yeah, whenever there’s clear criminal harm involved, people’s beliefs aren’t, and shouldn’t be, protected. I am only learning about the JW’s now that I work in a poor city where they’ve gobbled up tons of the immigrants from Cape Verde upon arrival. The attrition rate they have is crazy — converts don’t seem to be able to survive as JW’s past their education. I suppose that goes hand-in-hand with the immature stances they take on a number of things, and the cognitive dissonance that this heralds in the face of modern science and the mindset needed to have a conversation with others who take fundamental positions different from one’s own.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m curious to know the attrition rate these days, compared to, say when my mother was growing up. My mother has told me about a lot of kids in her childhood neighborhood who had left the religion as soon as they were of age. Even the kids I knew who were raised Jehovah’s Witnesses have left the religion.

      Like

  2. This is so interesting. I was honestly thinking about this recently. (And then today, I was talking with the kids of a dear friend about racism, that there is no such thing as different races, we are all in the human race, made in God’s image. Racism is evil and absurd, it doesn’t matter who’s doing it…but I digress…)
    This reminds me of the story of the person caught in rising flood waters praying to be rescued. A boat comes and he turns them away, “no thanks, I am waiting for God to rescue me”. A helicopter comes, same story. The stupid fool dies in the flood and God asks him what the heck he was thinking when He sent obvious answers to his prayers…

    Liked by 1 person

    • You hit it spot on, Vanessa. That’s what I question. If God loves the human race, then why wouldn’t He equip us the necessities to survive. That includes the developments of science. Side note: Lots of scientists in history were Christian. So I don’t get the problem with medical treatment. Why shouldn’t any Christian believe that the development of medical science is God’s will?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t understand it at all, either. Religious people played a huge role in developing our modern scientific methods, because they were interested to learn more about the universe God had created. And to use everything at our disposal to help others. We were made for community. One way God’s love is revealed is in the way we love each other. So I agree. I can’t relate to that thinking.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Like I said, I am not particularly religious. In that I don’t subscribe to one religion, despite my baptism. Personally, I don’t even believe a person MUST attend church to be a true Christian, or follower of Jesus. In fact, Jesus said, and I’m paraphrasing heavily, that church is anywhere people gather to worship our Father. I could have church in my basement if I wanted to, and it would be the same as attending Sunday Mass at my local perish. The most important thing is that we treat our fellow man well, without prejudice. Jesus ran with prostitutes, for fuck’s sake. And I’m sorry for being presumptuous, but I doubt He would want people to ignore medical care to save loved ones.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Yes, the church is not a building, but the people…and the association of ideas, which is a powerful thing, i.e., in setting aside a space for that meditation time, that space can obviously be anywhere.
            I love the way Jesus highlighted the depth of hypocrisy around the whole prostitution institution!!
            Anyway, I agree. Medical care is a huge blessing to us, imho, and the people who work to develop their gifts and interests and vocations to help others.

            Liked by 1 person

          • When I worked at a hospital near me, I fully realized the respect I have for medical professionals, namely the registered nurses. I can’t tell you how many times I spoke with a nurse beside her/himself because they lost a patient. There is a lot of love in these people. No one can ever tell me they aren’t working for the greater good.

            Liked by 2 people

          • I admire those people who take care of others, even knowing they will lose patients sometimes. And I’ve seen the stricken looks on their faces. Seen them cry, held their hands. They are beautiful people, the people who take care of us.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

