Child Death-by-Car

Twelve children nationwide had died in unattended vehicles this year before the official start of summer.

Now car manufacturers are talking about equipping new models with a sensor to remind the fucking grown-ups to check the backseat for children before exiting the car. There have been devices on the market for a number of years, but apparently they are doing fuckall, just taking up space on retailer shelves. But! we shouldn’t have a need for these products to begin with–that we, as a society, require electronics to prevent child death by “forgetting” them in our vehicles overloads my system. My brain, and my heart hurts.

What the actual fuck is wrong with people?

New vehicles shouldn’t only be installed with simple sensors and alert systems. They should also be equipped with tasers. Because if you exit the car, and close the door with your child(ren) locked helpless inside–setting off the reminder alarm–the alarm should trigger a taser to take down your ignorant ass, AND! automatically alert 911.

8 thoughts on “Child Death-by-Car

  1. I really don’t get it, either. All parents have a tough job, and often it’s helpful to be more patient and understanding, but this is one time I really don’t get it. It’s not the car manufacturers’ jobs to do something about this, but it’s horrible that it’s even a conversation at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agreed. I can’t fathom how people can forget. I’ve heard stories of people having a routine, and when that routine is changed, sometimes they go on autopilot and forget. But still. Whenever I went anywhere with my son, I’d put his bag and mine back there with him, just in case. Because I don’t understand on autopilot sometimes. But when he was with me, even when he was super quiet, I never actually forgot until I retrieved my bag.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

